Evernote Challenge 3 (food)

I’m having a harder time reducing my information clutter than I am with my “real life” clutter.  I had made a decision to try out all the things I’ve accumulated in my Evernote  account because I had over 700 bits of really good stuff in there.  Ahem…. I have over 900 now.  There is just so much good stuff out there…and I love trying out new things…  Oh well, I’m back at it again.

This Evernote  item is making perfect pinto beans taken from the I DARE YOU TO EAT IT  blog.  This coming month my food budget might end up being less than $100 (yikes!).  I’m mentally preparing myself for that to happen and have decided to do a bunch of  cheap/eat from the food storage meals early on.  I have plenty of dried beans.  Lets just say we could eat beans and rice for the whole month and still have a lot left.  I just don’t know if we’d still want to be around each other after eating so many beans, lol.

Here is the recipe:

Perfect Pintos

Fresh Ingredients

2 large cloves garlic, crushed

Storage Ingredients

2 cups dry pinto beans

2 teaspoons olive oil

1 teaspoon dried oregano leaves

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon pepper

3 1/4 cups water

Sort beans for debris. Rinse. Cover with 2 quarts of water and soak for 12-24 hours. If possible, change the water three or four times during soaking process in order to draw out and remove indigestible sugars that cause digestive discomfort. Drain and thoroughly rinse beans. Add all ingredients to a slow cooker and cook on low for approximately 10-12 hours, until beans are tender. Add 1-2 teaspoons salt to taste, and serve.

Leave a Reply

