Evernote Challenge 6 ~ Food ~ Tuna Noodle Casserole

 

I know for many people a tuna casserole is not really a challenge.  But, for me the challenge comes in making the white sauce from scratch.  I’ve always had a hard time making one without burning it or it tasting sort of…uncooked.  I haven’t tried making anything with a white sauce from scratch in years.  But, I had all of the ingredients and I need more cheap and easy recipes to draw from.  I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com.  It turned out to be just what it said..easy and filling.  I stayed with my white sauce and stirred constantly to make sure it didn’t burn.  I did tweak the seasonings a bit because my family likes things a little spicier…but, all in all, this was a hit.  Even my 15yo picky eater son liked it.  Definite keeper.

Original Recipe Yield 6 servings
 
Ingredients
  • 1 (8 ounce) package wide egg noodles
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt (optional)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tuna, drained
  • 1 (15 ounce) can peas, drained

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Coat a 2 quart casserole dish with cooking spray.
  2. In a large pot of salted water, boil noodles until al dente. Drain well.
  3. In a medium saucepan, combine flour, butter, and salt. Stir until butter is melted and ingredients are combined evenly. Add milk, and whisk until the sauce thickens (usually it is at the proper consistency by the time it begins to boil). Add cheese to mixture, and whisk until cheese is melted and mixture is well blended. Stir in tuna, peas, and noodles. Spread evenly in prepared dish.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes.

Nutritional Information

Amount Per Serving

Calories: 354

  • Total Fat: 14.6g
  • Cholesterol: 73mg
  • Sodium: 724mg
  • Total Carbs: 34.2g
  •     Dietary Fiber: 3.3g
  • Protein: 21.1g
Leave a Reply

