Walking With God

At the beginning of the year I read through the Bible in 90 Days with Amy over at Mom’s Toolbox. It was the first time for me reading it straight through.  A second go round started yesterday July 5.  This time I’m not reading it through. I will be following along as a mentor to a group of new readers.

When I did the reading the first time I underlined and highlighted things that caught my interest so that I could go back and look at them later.  There isn’t really time to do in depth study when you are doing the B90Days reading because the pace is so fast.  The idea being that you will get a look at the whole Bible instead of bits and pieces.

One of the things I underlined in was in Genesis 5 verse 24:  ‘Enoch walked with God;  then he was no more because God took him away.’ 

I also saw it again in Genesis 6 verse 9: ‘Noah was a righteous man, blameless among the people of his time, and he walked with God.’ 

And there it is again in Genesis 17:1 :  ‘When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the LORD appeared to him and said, “I am God Almighty ; walk before me and be blameless.’

I’ve been trying to think about what it means to ‘walk with God.’  These men had to have had a very close relationship with God.  They were said to be ‘righteous‘ and ‘blameless’.  Their lives reflected their ‘walk.’

We have the opportunity to ‘walk with our God’ through daily prayer and daily Bible readings.

I ask myself if my life reflects my ‘walk with God?’  Is the manner in which I conduct myself consistent with my ‘walk?’

Is yours?

4 responses to “Walking With God

  1. I just wanted to stop by and say to my fellow B90Days mentor! I am making my way around to all the mentor’s blogs to introduce myself and get acquainted! Looking forward to seeing you around the challenge!

  2. Hi, Stacy. It is nice to “meet” another of my fellow mentors.

  3. Hi Stacy! I’m one of the other mentors and I just wanted to swing by and say hi!

    It’s nice to see that someone else isn’t reading along during this session. I’ve been visiting other mentor blogs and almost everyone is reading through again. I just wanted to do some in depth Bible study while encouraging others but I feel like the odd man out! 🙂 🙂

  4. From mom loop: I started reading the Old Testament at the beginning of the year. I’ve never read it all the way through before from beginning to end. It is taking a long time (I’m in 2nd Chronicles). So hats off to you in doing it in 90 days!!!!!

Leave a Reply

