The Love Dare~Day 1~Patience

The first time I heard about The Love Dare was when I saw the movie Fireproof about a year and a half ago.  I was as skeptical about whether or not it could work as the husband was in the movie.  Several months later I ended up doing the dare with an online group of ladies. 

I’m not skeptical anymore.

Following this dare can make changes in any marriage…good or bad.  I know that’s a pretty bold statement to make, but, from my experience it does work.  Mine was in a very bad way and following this dare not only changed my relationship with my husband…but, it changed me.

I’m doing the dare again (and maybe I’ll do it again and again) because it’s easy to fall back into the rut of taking the ones you love for granted.  I don’t ever want to go there again.

The book says that taking this challenge is an often difficult process, but an incredibly fulfilling one.  To take this dare requires a resolute mind and a steadfast determination. That’s an understatement.

It also says that learning to truly love is one of the most important things you will ever doHow many of us think this is true?

Today’s dare is about learning to be patient.

Several things stood out in today’s dare:

1.  Being patient is a choice.  It is a choice to control your emotions rather than allowing them to control you.

2.  Patience waits to see the whole picture before passing judgment. (I’m not very good at this).

3.  Patience helps you give your spouse permission to be human. (Wait? He’s not supposed to be perfect?)

4.  Few people are as hard to live with as an impatient person.  (Every time I have read that line I have to take a hard look at myself).

Today I resolve to demonstrate patience and to say nothing (or think nothing of) negative to my spouse at all.  I have the word written on my hand as a reminder.  I think my children need to be included in this dare also.

Anyone up for the Dare? I double dog dare you to join us…….

This post is linked up to Simply Complicated..That’s Just Me who is sponsoring this dare.  You can also join in on the discussion over on Facebook.

Everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger.  James 1:19

5 responses to “The Love Dare~Day 1~Patience

  1. Hi! I’m visiting via Melinda @ Parenting Confessions as part of Tweet Me Tuesday – and I’m glad I stopped by. I’ve also watched Fireproof and at the time I didn’t give much thought to the Love Dare. Or, rather, I thought it was too hard to put into actual practice.

    Your challenge gives me something to think about, though. Lately, patience has gotten hard to get a grip on, you know? You’ve encouraged me to actually try the Love Dare out now, God has just sent you to remind me! So, THANKS! 😉

  2. Hi! Sorry I didn’t get by here yesterday to tweet this for Tweet Me Tuesday, but I’m so glad you linked up! This is an awesome post! I saw Fireproof also and a few months ago I bought some pocket Love Dare cards, but I frankly have been putting off going through them. I think I’ve felt I had to gear myself up to be PATIENT and consistent. (Two things I struggle with also!) Your post has been a kick in the pants (in a good way!)

    I’m Tweeting this out for Tweet Me Tuesday — even though it’s Wednesday! ;0)

  3. I didn’t get here yesterday either-but thanks for linking up! I absolutely loved that movie and I have the book. I started doing it once and stalled out. Melinda’s right-your post is a kick in the pants (in a good way)!! Thank you!

    Tweeting it out today!!

  4. I’ve taken on the Love Dare challenge! Thanks to you. Haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

