Betty Crocker Potato Buds~ Review and a Giveaway

Recently I received a package from MyBlogSpark to review.  In it was a box of Betty Crocker Potato Buds, a lovely wooden bowl, a large spoon with the Betty Crocker logo on it and a silicone pot holder made by Norpro. 

Potato_Buds-WEB_FINAL

The idea being of course that I try out their product and then give an unbiased review.  Although, being unbiased might be a problem since I’ve been a Betty Crocker fan for many, many years and they pretty much sell a no-fail product.

We did the traditional mashed potatoes straight from the box and they were good as usual…make sure to fluff though. 

Then I decided to try them out in a bread recipe I found online. I’ve been trying to find a recipe for bread that’s not so crumbly and someone I know suggested adding potato flakes.  I searched online and found an easy recipe for potato bread using instant mashed potato flakes. This recipe is for use in a bread machine.

http://www.bread-machine-recipes.com/recipes/potato_bread.html

school pics   134

It made a denser, less crumbly loaf with a good flavor.  It was a piece of cake making it since I was able to to use the Betty Crocker Potato Buds and not have to worry about making mashed potatoes. 

I might add that Betty Crocker Potato Buds would make a wonderful addition to your food storage.

To any readers out there…guess what?!  MyBlogSpark has generously offered the same prize pack that I received to go to one of my lucky readers! All you have to do is leave a comment telling me another way you might use Betty Crocker Potato Buds.  Giveaway ends Friday, November 5 at 9pm PST.

And I can’t forget to disclose that the product, prize pack, information,and the giveaway were sponsored by Betty Crocker through MyBlogSpark.  My review is all my own however.

7 responses to “Betty Crocker Potato Buds~ Review and a Giveaway

  1. Fun giveaway! Count me in!!
    theredheadriter(at)aol(dot)com

    I have used potato flakes in homemade bread many times!

    This recipe is totally different than bread. I love it!

    SUNDAY MEAT LOAF

    2 lbs. ground beef
    1/2 cup ketchup
    1-2 eggs
    1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs
    1/4 cup mashed potato flakes (Betty Crocker Potato Buds)
    2-3 tbs. Worcestershire sauce
    1 small chopped onion
    1/4 c. finely chopped celery
    1 tsp. garlic powder (or 1 T. minced garlic)
    salt, to taste
    pepper, to taste

    Honey Mustard Ketchup Sauce:

    1 cup ketchup
    1/3 cup honey
    2 tablespoons yellow mustard

    Lightly grease bread pan (or jelly roll pan, if desired, as meatloaf will hold it’s shape).

    Preheat oven to 350°F.

    Mix all of the above ingredients together very well then form loaf in bread pan, or on jelly roll pan.

    Bake for 45 minutes uncovered, then drain off excess oil.

    Bake another 15 minutes or so until lightly brown and the internal temperature is at least 160°F.

    Mix honey, mustard and ketchup together in small bowl and serve on the side.

    I found it one day while surfing. There is a printer friendly version here:
    http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1627,131191-249199,00.html

    There’s also a popular recipe for cookies using Betty Crocker Potato Buds, but I’ve never been brave enough to try them. :o)

  2. I found your blog from Red’s BF Community.
    I’m a big Betty Crocker fan too, especially their cake and brownie mixes. We love the Potato Buds too. They are so easy to make and delicious.

    I am going to try this recipe over the weekend. I planned on making brocccoli soup this weekend, but now that I checked out the recipes on the site, I love this one: Cheesy Broccoli-Potato Soup. And with the weather getting colder here it’ll really hit the spot.

  3. I make a really yummy German Knefla Soup. Sometimes when I don’t have time I will sub the potatoes for instant. Betty Crocker instant potatoes are very good for this soup.

    Make a soup base using half and half and water, add chicken bouillon to taste. Next add fully cooked shredded chicken, shredded carrots and chopped celery to your liking. Next add instant potatoes, be careful to add slowly. Last make a dough using 4 cups of flour, 3 eggs, a small palm ull of salt and mix with water untill you have a fairly firm dough. Let dough sit 5 minutes. Then cut into small little dough balls.Put the dough balls into the soup and let boil untill they float. Say 7 minutes. Then it is ready to serve.
    I let each person do the salt and pepper so they have that control.
    It is very good and I actually like the instant better. It makes the soup easier to make.

    Here is a video with my son making the soup. We did not use instant for the video but I make it that way anout half the time. depends on what I have and how I feel about cooking.

  4. I like to add grated sharp cheddar cheese and bacon pieces to Betty Crocker Potato Buds for a side dish 🙂 *Thanks* for the giveaway!

  5. My mom has a great recipe for dinner rolls that she shapes to look like crescent rolls that are delicious! They are a treat that we look forward to at Thanksgiving and at Christmas.

    I have a favorite potato casserole that requires mashed potatoes and baked potatoes. That is always time consuming to make both, but with the Betty Crocker buds, I have saved time and it still tastes great!
    Ingredients

    * 2 cups mashed potatoes (or Betty Crocker Potato Buds!)
    * 1/2 cup sour cream
    * House Seasoning, recipe follows
    * 1 small onion, sliced thin
    * 1 small bell pepper, sliced thin
    * 8 tablespoons (1 stick) butter
    * 1 1/2 cups grated Cheddar
    * 4 medium potatoes, cooked
    * 6 slices bacon, cooked crisp

    Directions

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

    Spread mashed potatoes evenly on bottom of casserole dish. Layer sour cream evenly over top. Sprinkle House Seasoning, to taste. Saute onion and bell pepper in butter; evenly layer over top of sour cream. Slice potatoes and layer over onions and bell peppers. Add butter. Sprinkle House seasoning. Finally top with cheese. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes. Remove from oven and crumble bacon over top.

  6. I had to come back and tell you that we made the Cheesy Broccoli-Potato Soup the other night and it was so delicious. Instead of the chicken broth we substituted veggie broth and instead of the 2 cups of chicken we used mushrooms and it was so yummy. It makes 6 servings, but the 4 of us finished off the soup in one sitting.

  7. Thanks for all the new recipes and entering my giveaway!

Leave a Reply

