My Morning Routine

I’ve never been one of those super organized people that you read about who always seem to get these tremendous amounts of things done and actually check off all of the items on their super-long to-do lists. 

Talk to the people I live with. 

I read every organizational book known to man.  And tried them all.  Most lasted for a few days because they were just too complicated.

Then 10 years ago I found Flylady while searching the net for yet another way to get my life under control.  I was pretty skeptical at first.  I mean, here was this lady who was telling me to shine my sink (as if that would make a difference). Who had ever heard of anyone who actually shined their sink?  Not me.

And…she was in constant purple puddles. (Purple puddles means she was crying, for those of you who don’t know Flylady).  Just in case you think I’m putting here down…I met her IRL life a number of years ago and she is one of the most genuine people I’ve ever met.  The whole purple puddle thing was just a little foreign to me.

The thing I really love about her is that she has you start out small…with just a few things to do each day.  You learn to create a routine that works for you.  Mine has changed some as things have changed with me.  When I started working outside of my home I had to shorten it as my time got shorter. I still tweak it as necessary.

Here is my morning routine in a nutshell:

– Get Dressed to Shoes including Hair/Face, Brush Teeth
– Make Bed
– Swish & Swipe
– Empty Dishdrainer
– Reboot Laundry (a Load a Day Keeps CHAOS Away)
– Check My Calendar
– Breakfast
– Feed animals
– 10 minutes Bible reading (this is fairly new. I find it helps my day to start of right)

For those of you needing something to help you get on track…I highly recommend Flying

Leave a Reply

