A Very Epic Post

So I signed up for a challenge over at Blogelina. The idea was that you were to write an “epic” post to hopefully bring new readers to your blog. Readers who actually might want to stay around and keep coming back for more.

I think realistically if you’re going to be a decent blogger you really have to find your niche. There are so many bloggers out there who write about everything under the sun. And they’re really good. Really, really good.
I’ve been posting on this blog for a couple of years now and it still feels too random. I think part of the problem is that I feel like I can start writing about something then see that topic on someone else’s blog…and it seems so much….better.

I really do have a lot of things I’m interested in writing about. I love gardening, my chickens, developing my food storage, reading my Bible and many other book genres and going to the movies just to name a few. Some of them I’m just beginning to learn about, some I feel fairly knowledgeable about, and one thing (teaching preschoolers) I actually could post quite a bit of insight and activities about because I’ve been doing it for over 30 years.

But, do I really want to blog about the work I do 5 days a week? I keep thinking about the burn out factor there.

Or maybe I need to just write about what I like to do? Could it be that simple?

That’s the dilemma.

This trying to figure out what my place is in the blogosphere is so very difficult. I would really like to know other bloggers figured out what to write about? I welcome any and all advice….

111 responses to “A Very Epic Post

  1. Pingback: 100 Comments On My Blog (Group 2) - Blogelina | Blogelina

  2. Finding your niche is definitely hard to do, I’ve been blogging for 2.5 years and even though I have a niche, I still ramble on about whatever comes to mind.

  3. secondo me dovresti lasciarti andare e scrivere e postare quello che piace a te senza pensare che possa piacere o meno, come fosse il tuo diario di bordo. solo se sei te stessa puoi trovare la tua nicchia, anche piccola ma vera. ciao ciao, sei tenera e quindi ti seguirΓ²

  4. First and foremost, decide what is your passion. What wouldn’t you dread writing about 5-7 days a week. This is what your niche should be about.

    Make sure its something you enjoy and wouldn’t mind sharing with others.

    Pamela
    Still Dating My Spouse
    http://www.stilldatingmyspouse.com

  5. I think you have to stick to writing what you know about and what you are passionate about. I personally am not a parent so even though I know plenty about children I never write about them because it wouldn’t come across very genuine. Stick with what you love!

  6. Good luck as you search for ‘your voice’! I understand the problem – I began my blog to share and showcase my Projects and so I could Connect them to other sites as required. I keep adding bits and pieces of Me as I go along…lots I’d like to Share… ;-} Blessings!

    Lynden

    http://aneleganttouch-lynden.blogspot.com/2012/02/100-comments-event-wwwblogelinacom.html

  7. I figured out what to write about by my surroundings. I’m a mother to twin girls (naturally) and one has Hydrocephalus. Also, I love to bake in the spare time that I can find. Also my blog is a giveaway/review blog.
    What do you like to do? What gives you the most enjoyment? I would actually read your blog if it was about your adventures in being a preschool teacher. Kids say the darndest things and I know from experience with my mother working with them, that it’s hectic but amazing.
    I hope you figure out what your niche is. πŸ™‚ I’ll make sure to follow you.

  8. This has been one of my hardest things about blogging too. Do I have to narrow down my subject to one or two things in order to be a successful blog? That’s what the experts say. But I dabble in so many things and I love writing about my hobbies and family . . . so though I am tending to post more about one particular topic {cooking/healthy foods}, I also continue to write “happy posts” and list things I’m grateful for, or what God has been teaching me through His Word, because that’s where I am content and happy to blog right now. I guess the success is less important to me at the moment. I hope you can decide what’s right for you!

  9. As an recently returning blogger, I can completely relate. When I first started blogging a few years ago, I blogged about all sorts of things, I tried to make a big portion of my blog “bargain” related… I never could get myself settled in, and ended up taking a break. I recently started back blogging a couple months ago and decided that what I first wanted to decide was what I didn’t want to blog about – for example, I love bargain shopping – but there are a ton of blogs already dedicated to that, so I didn’t think I could do the topic any more justice. I landed on my topic, which still has some variety, but is a bit more focused.

    My suggestion would be to sit down and brainstorm all the topics you think you could write about, don’t eliminate anything just yet. Jot them down (either topics or an idea for a specific blog post). After you’ve given yourself some time to accumulate a list, go back and review. Are there items on there that you think have been overdone or just far to common? If so, you may want to consider skipping that topic (unless you are extremely passionate and want to create something better than what is already out there!) then look and see if you notice a common theme running in any of the items in your list. If so, consider that as an overall topic – and let your mind play around with it, see if it inspires you to think of even more…

    Whatever you decide to do, make sure it’s something that you’ll enjoy doing. Blogging should be fun! You mentioned that you weren’t sure if you’d want to spend your free time blogging about what you do full time, I can completely understand, but if it is something you’re really comfortable with, think about a way you might be able to spin it, maybe give you an opportunity to verbalize (or textualize) the things you wish you could at work, to give the direction and guidance that you think that if people knew, it would make what you do better.

    Hope this helps get the ideas flowing!

  10. Love your honesty here! I think it’s just writing about your passions. If you’re passionate about something, you can help other people learn about it. Don’t assume we all know what you do. Your experience may help someone who has never dealt with what you are doing. By the way, how do you like your chickens. I’m seriously thinking about it…

  11. As a new blogger, this is my problem too. But I often find it easier to write when I just become myself and write about what concerns me at the moment and things that I love to do! Good luck!

  12. I heard somewhere…I think it was at Blissdom last year by John Acuff…write as if no one is reading. Don’t worry about who or what, just write from your heart. Write what you love. We all have our “niches”, mine is frugal blogging and it’s hard to “stand out” in my field. So, I had to stop worrying about other frugal bloggers and post what I want to see. I want that coupon, so I post that coupon. I want that deal, so I post that deal. I know many people who would want to read about food storage. I would. So, write. Write about what you want to read and you will find that people will follow you because they are like you.

  13. Oh, forgot to add that I am here from the Blogelina Event. Thanks for your post. πŸ™‚

  14. First of all, don’t compare yourself to other bloggers. It will just discourage you. I feel the same way you do, but you have your own point of view on those different subjects and that’s something no one else will have. So just write, be passionate and, most importantly, be you! πŸ˜€

  15. Finding one’s niche/passion sometimes does not come easy. I know for myself I started blogging because of my aspirations to become a published children’s author. Focus is definitely key. Select one topic you are passionate about and let your words flow!

    Best regards,
    Donna
    Award-winning Children’s Author
    The Golden Pathway Story book Blog
    Write What Inspires You Blog

  16. Love your honesty!
    I, myself (and probably like many others) am a woman of many likes! I want to do it all! But as I’ve explored blogging – I’ve found I can do most anything (reviews, how-to’s, etc) – but I’ve also found what gives me the most enjoyment (like the one commenter said – I would write this even if no one was reading it . . . which is probably the case many times anyways! :)) . . . I love to encourage people (women mostly) to find and be all that they were created and designed to be (thus my post for today’s Epic post event)! I LOVE seeing people come alive with the knowlege that they are AWESOME, AMAZING, INCREDIBLE, SPECIAL and UNIQUE – that there is “gold” in each and every one of them – and to help draw that out so the world can see and they can be a blessing to those around them!!
    YOU, my dear, are filled with GOLD – Gemstones – brilliant ideas, creativity and more! Let it flow! πŸ™‚

    If you have done preschool stuff for 30 years – then girl . . . you need to blog about that!! I don’t think i could stand doing preschool stuff for more than the years we had with our 5 kids . . . much less 30! Sounds like a “love” and a niche to me! πŸ™‚ Trust me – tired, worn out moms are everywhere – wondering what to do with their little ones all day!
    KISS – Keep It Simple Sister . . . and show those moms how to teach, train, entertain and bond with these little balls of energy! πŸ™‚

    Blessings!

  17. I hear ya on this one!! I feel like sometimes my posting is too random. But as others have said, sometimes you just need to write what you are thinking, what you are currently interested in and this comes across more naturally most of the time. I think all of the ideas you mention are ood ones, food storage, preschoolers etc b/c as a mom I would be interested in these things. I don’t think you necessarily have to narrow it down to one idea all of the time.

    Good luck with your blog and hope you find a niche you enjoy writing about!

  18. I’d love to hear about your preschool ideas! I only wish I had 30 years experience there!

  19. This is a toughie! I had a blog for several years that was mostly focused on bargains, but I felt like there were so many other more established blogs out there on that topic – and I really didn’t want to get into just posting deals – I wanted it to be a bit more in depth. So, I decided to start blogging on my favorite topic (plus I think my friends were getting tired of hearing me talk, so this is a good outlet!) – health and wellness. I do tend to do it from a frugal perspective (as that’s just my nature), but I find I never run out of things to say on the topic! Plus, it’s fun – I love to share my passion and help others on their road to wellness. Good luck – any enjoy the process!

  20. I appreciate your honesty. My blog began when friends told me to start writing it down. I write what comes out… Frankly, I was intimidated by the “epic blog” challenge because I was thinking about what I should write, rather than letting it makes it way to the page. For me, when a blog is difficult to write, I abandon it (at least for a while). I’m sure you’ll find your voice and your niche. Perhaps (and I’m sure the experts would say this is nuts) you shouldn’t look for it. As a woman of faith, trust that it will find you.
    Peace and good to you on your journey.

  21. What do you think about most in your free time? What do you get excited about? What do you want to tell others about? What do you like to learn about most?

    I like to share creative ideas for eating healthfully and cheaply with my friends. When I saw them putting my advice to work, I realized others outside my circle of friends could benefit too, and that’s was how I found my niche.

    I wish you well on your blogging journey!
    Kristel
    http://www.healthyfrugalista.com

  22. I face the same problems during my blogging…Earlier I just used to post photoes of my artwork or crafts…..slowly I have gained a bit of confidence and I sometimes write about my life and myself in my posts..
    Happy blogging

  23. Yes, finding your niche is the thing. I started out following other couponing blogs and thought for so long “I could do that.” And then, just by happenstance, I came across a banner for blogger and found that I could do my own blog for free. That was about 7 months ago and though my readership is no where near where I’d like it to be, I can say that I am enjoying blogging every day (regardless of how many people are reading it). Those that do, are very vocal that they love it, so I’m happy with that for now. All I can say, is blog about something that you’re interested in, and that you’ll want to write about regardless of whether anyone else is reading (if that makes sense). Good luck to you!

  24. My blog at A Juggling Mom is about me trying to find balance between work and family time as a full time working mom. Besides chronicling my journey as a A Juggling Mom, I also hope to share resources on how moms can juggle the many roles as mom, wife, daughter, girl friend and career woman on a daily basis. So my topics have been random from parenting, marriage, reviews, food, and some of my interest like fitness, travelling, baking and crafts. Hope you find yours soon πŸ™‚

  25. Thanks for being honest and writing about a frustration many new bloggers have. As a business coach/consultant I would like to offer a little advice that I tell my clients.

    The first thing you need to do is ask yourself a few questions. What do you love? What could you do for free every single day and never get bored? What excites you?

    Based on what you wrote about it appears that you are experienced at preschool work. But, if that does not make your heart sing you will be bored and your readers will be able to tell.

    In order to write engaging posts you have to write about something you really enjoy.

    You also mentioned that you have a lot of things you are interested in, why not blog about your learning process on the one topic you LOVE!

    Try to figure out what you could never could tired talking about. And keep in mind your blog can always evolve to include something else. During the creative process you may discover another part of you that you want to share.

    I hope this helps.

    If you like I would love to do a free 30 minute consult with you, to help you brainstorm and get going.

    All the best.

    Lisa

  26. I think the key is not to worry about other bloggers.Be uniquely you! I think there is so much room for all of us out here in the blogosphere that it sometimes just takes letting go and leaping in!

  27. I decided that I wanted to focus on crafting, sewing, and cooking. They are what I really love to do, and blogging about them gives me a chance to show what I’ve been up to. I also decided I wanted to post 5x/week. I had to make myself a schedule. Each day is assigned a sort of “topic,” and that helps keep me on track and without getting burned out.

  28. I agree with the group here, blog about whatever makes YOU happy…don’t be scared by what other bloggers are saying because it has nothing to do with what you have made here for yourself.

    If everyone’s blog was the same, the blog-o-sphere would be BORING!

  29. It is a difficult question. I’ve been blogging (and failing) at it for 3-4 years. I started one on running. then started another about diy projects. started another one about gifting on a budget. hmm…they all seemed to go absolutely no where. While I love to save money, I love to run in my free time, etc. None of those things are my passion. I’m a designer at heart, and I like things to look pretty and I like people to love the things I create! I thought that I would get “burned” out talking about design because it is my career field, but I guess I consider myself to be “lucky” really really blessed to get to do something I LOVE every single day, and that is design things. So talking about what I love comes easily. It isn’t just my hobby, it isn’t something I have to do in order to manage my budget, its something I am crazy blessed enough to love so much that I constantly want to learn about it and share what I learn with others. I can’t say that this latest venture into blogging is going to be a success, but it certainly has come so much farther than any of the other blogs I’ve tried and failed to create. So my suggestion is think about the things that you like to do right this minute if you didn’t have a pile of laundry to do, if you didn’t have to go to work…etc, the things you love are the things you can talk about the easiest and the best.

  30. Like I always tell my granddaughter (she’s three.) Each person is unique and special. A story lives within each of us; whether it’s colored with crayons, blogged, written in a novel, sung in a musical or painted within the sky.

    Find your voice, pick your canvas, and enjoy!

    Onward by Faith!
    Gina

  31. I am so all over the place when it comes to blogging. One minute I want to blog about this, the next I want to blog about something different. So I completely understand where you’re coming from. I have decided though, that I am going to keep my random ideas separate, so I have 3 different blogs I write in. One for frugal stuff, adult stuff, and personal stuff. LOL It helps keep me focused, although a bit time consuming.

  32. It’s your blog so write about whatever you want to! I have a few different blogs and one of them I just write about whatever I feel like which usually consists of real life things that happen to me in my life. Good luck!

  33. I also struggled a bit when I first started blogging. I just have really started getting comforatble with where I am. I am passionate about my family, my faith, becoming more self-sufficiant, gardening, eating organically and helping others to see that no matter what you make, there are ways you can make changes to provide you family with healthier food. It is what I enjoy talking about, so it fits.

    As everyone else said, blogging I think has to primarily be about what you enjoy foremost, otherwise it will be hard for us to stick with it.

    Being a mother of a 2 & 4 year old, I love looking at blogs with great kid friendly ideas! I wish you great success!

  34. Finding your niche is very important but some things like your family and your everyday life will always be a part of who you are so write about what you know.

  35. I found myself gravitating to about 3 to 5 specific topics that always could be linked together through categories like family and faith. Maybe what you could do is go through each of those topics you like to spend time on and then try to group them under one common word or category. You might be suprised to find that many of them will fit under a common category. Then, instead of you feeling like you are writing about everything under the sun, you will be focussed on those main categories and going into the specific topics under the categories that you are most passionate about. Good luck! I’ll be back to see what you’ve decided to do!

  36. I can relate! I just do it for me! When I feel like it! Life is too short to do try to do what everybody says I ‘should be doing’. Great post!

  37. I’m in the exact same spot as you. I have my current blog Carrots, which I’ve had for over a year. It’s just my personal blog where I post whatever I feel like, and therefore most of my followers are friends and family. I just started my second blog, Shieldmaiden of Sherwood, which I’m trying to keep more specialized in the hope of more visitors–and hoping to stop driving my current followers crazy with all my nerdiness, because that will go on the new blog. πŸ™‚

  38. Blog about what you love and what you find interesting. That will translate into your writing and the readers will pick up on your enthusiasm and be loyal. Don’t concentrate too much on making money, that will get in the way of your message. Good Luck! It is a lot of hard (but rewarding) work.

  39. I’ve been blogging for awhile, and what I’ve found is that I don’t have the attention span to blog about a narrow topic all the time, every time! I have actually made narrow blogs and had to abandon them, because I was more interested in something else at the time and and couldn’t stick with it! Even though many out there would advise you to pick a narrow topic for your blog, I have found that it also has to keep not only your audience’s attention, but yours, and if you think you would burn out of talking about preschool, then do what you love!

    You could just have one day a week or month that pertains to preschool stuff and then the rest about the other areas of interests….just thoughts. (and joining you from Blogalina!)

  40. Your blog could be a lifestlye blog for people who are wanting to lean towards an outdoor type of lifestyle. Finding a niche is hard but you have to know what makes you. Sometimes you have to create your own niche.

  41. I’m here via the 100 comment event, and my epic post was similar to yours — finding my voice in a sea of bloggers! Some of my bloggie friends just said to me — be yourself. For me, finding a community of mommies to share my experience has made my blog “successful” even if I don’t have sponsors or 1000 twitter followers.

  42. I’m fortunate to have found my niche, but I have a good friend who is a great writer and is really struggling to find his. I wish you the best!

  43. I write randomly about our life and the products we review. I have yet to find my niche and I have been doing this for two years at FFR, but blogging since 2006! No wonder I am not increasing my income! ha! But truly maybe that is why….

  44. I think what you choose to write about depends on what your goal is. If your goal is to make an income from your blog, you will want to choose a topic that allows you to do so and that you know about. If you are just writing for your own pleasure then write about what you love. πŸ™‚

  45. What is your goal as a blogger? Do educate others, find other like-minded people to converse with, make money? Depending on what your goal is can help determine how much time you have to spend on your blog.

    I agree with @Colette about not comparing yourself to others. It can be hard. I find myself doing it. But we each have our own voice and that is what I think blogging is about, sharing our voice.

  46. I wasn’t sure what article to use, in fact I’m still not sure if I used the right one but I guess the real benefit is getting to meet so many other bloggers. Oh well maybe if we do it again I can pick a different one.

  47. I findit so much easier to write when it is a topic I am passionate about. Or something new that interests me.

  48. I started my coupon matchup blog because I was saving so much money using coupons and I wanted to share my bargains with everyone so they could get the same deals as I was getting. Every week I can get items for free or almost free using coupons. In this tough economy any money I can save really helps out. You mentioned some great topics just write from your heart.

  49. You have to write about a topic you are interested and passionate about. Otherwise, you won’t enjoy the blogging experience. I’ve only been blogging a few weeks and I quickly realized that it is a lot of work and quite time-consuming. Thankfully, saving money is something I love so I look forward to blogging even with the hard work involved.

  50. I have to say that I admire your candor and sincerity. I just started blogging in August of 2011 myself so I can understand how you’re feeling.

    You may find other blog posts that are similar to yours and you may think that those posts are better, but I encourage you to write from your heart. I’m sure that there are hundreds (maybe thousands) of bloggers who have blogged about some of my topics. It doesn’t matter to me though, because my stories and my experiences belong to me.

    For your next blog post, listen to your heart and taking from there.

  51. I mostly write about my real life. Sometimes it doesn’t seem very exciting, but its something I know about!

  52. It sounds like you don’t know what your niche is. What is your purpose for blogging? If you like to cook more than anything else, share recipes. If your hobby is being a seamstress, give tips. May I suggest that you write down five things you’re interested in and number them according to priority. The #1 item should be your niche. All the best, Deb

  53. I started out being super random, and still am most of the time. I’ve found a couple niches that I fit into pretty good. I think that the key to finding your niche(s) is to figure out what you are passionate about and run with it and don’t be afraid to add in something new every once and a while to spice things up of to pull other people over from other niches! Good Luck, Just have fun, and BE YOURSELF!

  54. I know what you mean! When I started my blog, I thought I knew where I wanted to go with it, but now I’ve changed it a little bit. I think I limited myself too much at first. I’ve broadened my niche just a bit and it’s going much better. You need to write what you know. Maybe make each day a different topic and rotate through them (ie, Monday is gardening, Tuesday is teaching preschoolers, etc).

  55. Don’t worry about if you think someone else can say something else better! They can still never say the same things that you can. Writing takes practice, and you definitely have courage going out on a limb to ask for suggestions. Just take that courage and DO write what you like!

  56. I started writing my blog for therapy after my daughter and I became very ill. Now, my daughter inspires me every day, so I write about our blessings.

  57. Writing a blog can be so intimidating! I just started one a few months ago because I have a lot of funny stories and oddities that happen all the time. I feel it can be a bit random but you really have to enjoy what you write about! Write about what you enjoy in life and you will find your way.

  58. It is very hard to figure out what to write about. This is the only reason my blog goes days without anything posted. Keep up the good work you will get there.

  59. I have an easier time when I write about what I love and my readers appreciate it to. Thank you for your post, we all have been there.

  60. I keep hearing that bloggers should find a niche. It’s hard to do but most of the comments are right, write about something you could talk about for long periods of time. Share your knowledge or experiences with others, it makes writing that much easier.

  61. I can agree that it can be hard to figure out what to blog about sometimes but just stick with the great things you do. πŸ™‚

  62. It is easier said than done but try not to compare your blog to other peoples and get yourself out of the mind set that you blog post isn’t as good as someone else’s. Do what you want with your blog b/c it is all YOURS! I think I missed my calling as an interior decorator/designer. It is my passion. I started doing this as a creative outlet b/c I have young children and I just LOVE it b/c it’s all mine! Just be yourself, be honest, and have fun, most importantly! πŸ™‚

  63. Chickens, preserving food, gardening and Bible study can all easily go hand-in-hand. You’ve got a blog about Christian homesteading! And if you incorporate the little ones in any of your homestead activities, you can write about that too. People who want to do those things (garden, raise chickens, preserve food,etc.) but don’t know where to get started or are looking for fresh insight, scour the blogosphere. You’ve got a great niche right in your own backyard! Best wishes to you.

  64. But niche blogging hems you in! LOL – I’m in the same boat, as you…I haven’t even figured out what I want to be when I grow up & I have grandchildren that are almost old enough to give me great grandchildren.
    Write what gives you pleasure – that’s what blogging should be about!

  65. I agree with everyone who commented. Write about what you love, your take on things are different that’s what makes you unique. Continue to write about all the things you love, maybe do segments.

    Stephanie
    http://www.royalmajestea.com

  66. I like to blog about when I’m learning. You learn best when you teach, right? So even though I call myself a “newlywed blogger”, I really write about keeping a home and things I’m learning and trying at home. It’s so much fun!

    I would write about what you enjoy and what you want to learn more about!! There is always someone more knowledgeable than you, but there is also always someone less knowledgeable than you! They would love to hear about your process!

  67. My blog is about everything I cherish, day to day life with kids and family. Products I like to review, fashion, celebrity. I tried to concentrate on one thing, but it was boring and I was loosing ideas.

  68. I created my blog and decided on my niche based on my life’s events. It was all prompted by motherhood. Which is what writing as The Chatty Momma is all about. Good Luck on finding your niche.

  69. I agree with others that you have to write about what you enjoy. Otherwise the blog will get old quick and you won’t want to stick with the work. I enjoy reading blogs that are ‘real’ and not just here is another deal. I blog about the books I read with my boys to encourage others but also to keep myself accountable to read to them. I think the accountability is what keeps me going. Find something you love to talk about and just go for it. You can always revamp later if you find it isn’t working.

  70. I’ve had this conversation with myself many times. Ultimately I had ask myself what was my purpose in writing my blog. Do I want to share myself, have a creative outlet and make new friends or do I want to make money and become the next big thing in the blogging world or something in between these two? For me, it is my release. I write about what strikes me at the moment. If I worried about staying with one topic, I’m afraid I would get bored out of my gourd and ultimately so would my readers. I just have to be me. Readers will love you for you. If you find one or two topics work for you, go for it. If you are happy meandering around topics, go for it. Your readers will appreciate your honesty and passion.

  71. I’m with you,it’s really hard to find your groove in the blogging world. And to tell the truth, I think most blogs evolve over time and find their niche in a natural sort of way. Ours just went from really focused to a bit more broad to appeal to our audience more and to make posting easier for us.

  72. May I just say that although you may not have a particular niche just yet, you do have something far more intriguing: honesty. I will be following your blog because I really like that you can “call it like it is” and can be upfront with your readers. You’re right that there are a million bloggers on the net who write about a million different things, but not all of them have the fresh perspective that you do. Keep it just the way it is, and I’ll be around to share it with you. πŸ™‚ Great post.

  73. I’m in the same boat as you are. I’ve been blogging for several years but only in the past year have I gotten serious about it. I’m still having a hard time finding my niche but mine is primarily a homeschooling blog so that narrows it down a bit. However, while I do write about our homeschooling life, I also write about things that I’m passionate about–a lot of books, art, issues that are important to me. It’s all a reflection of ME so I write about what I know. Good luck finding your voice!

  74. Some of my favorite blogs write about a little bit over everything. I think that a blog should about be whatever interests you – write about what you like and don’t try to classify it or compare it to others (that just makes it stressful and takes all the fun out of blogging).

  75. Write about what you love!

  76. What about writing about chickens – maybe with a growing your own food spin – gardening and then getting eggs from the chickens and developing your food storage including the follies and foibles that go with that. Seems like that is a bit of a trend these days!

  77. I have the same dilemma… I try to combat that feeling of randomness by having a few topics I enjoy that I return to a lot. I do a weekly cloth diaper post because I really love to write about how that works for me, and I have started a weekly toddler activity post because that is the phase I am in right now.
    You mentioned 30 yrs of preschool experience and not wanting to burn out… but maybe you could focus on your most favorite aspect of that experience – maybe you have a way with hands-on activities, or how to do read-alouds, or even crafting “walls that teach” – focus on one small area you love and keep sharing your knowledge on that and then you won’t feel like you’re just writing about “work” all the time (Just my idea! :))

  78. I’d say follow your heart.Don’t look around just write what comes to mind. You will have followers who will be drawn to you because they see the passion in your work.Everything else falls into place after that

  79. I think my niche is rambling. It used to be lack-of-a-filter, but I have have tried really hard over the past couple of years to reign that in. Now I jot down all the different things that float around in my head. And I cut myself some slack for not being focused on just one niche. Because that’s not who I am. I am many things and, therefore, so is my blog. Don’t sweat it!

  80. Good luck in blogging. Being a preschool teacher myself, I would enjoy reading about other teachers and their successes.

  81. Great question! I have been blogging for quite some time and when it first started out it was just a way to keep family updated on our lives and blog our homeschooling adventures. I didn’t really want to be a homeschool blogger though, because that market is alread saturated with tons of wonderful bloggers and I just felt I didn’t have much new to add. Plus, it was enough just planning our homeschool and executing it-going on to then write about it every day didn’t sound like too much fun to me even though it is a subject I am quite passionate about.

    I still have that blog, but my main blog is my weight-loss blog and I’ve seen a lot of growth in that over the past few months. I think thy key to finding your niche is it has to be something you are passionate about and you can be accountable to and consistent with. Having those qualities will help you avoid blogger burnout. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having a more eclectic blog. I follow several that I think are wonderful (Mckmama comes to mind here-she writes about EVERYTHING). You can certainly make it work and as long as you are providing quality content people will keep coming back. For me, while I do focus mainly on weight-loss/healthy-living related topics, I do write about everything from my kids, to my faith to other goals I am working, to current events going on in my life. What I love most about blogs that I keep coming bck to are bloggers who are real and who share themselves and their stories, struggles and triumphs. It really makes you feel like you know them.

    Good luck figuring it all out!

  82. I completely understand your dilemma. I have chosen a niche (teaching kids to be good eaters) and started my blog with the specific intent to write about that topic- however, now that I am a blogger, I find that there are other things that I would also like to write about and I wonder if I should share it on my current blog, start another blog, or just keep it to myself πŸ™‚ I’m not sure how long you’ve been blogging, but it seems like the blogs that I enjoy the most have been around for a while. I imagine that it takes a while to find your voice. You might want to see which of your posts gather the most interest and that seem to really connect with people and have that help you focus…

  83. I struggle with this whole “niche” thing as well. I guess I’m falling into comedy niche these days, because I only post when I have something that makes me laugh. I thing the important thing to remember is being authentic to yourself. πŸ™‚ Nice to find you from Blogelina!

  84. I believe that if you blog from your heart, you’ll attract readers. If you enjoy writing about a handful of topics, try post them on a specific schedule. Your readers will appreciate that, and will know to stop by certain days for their favorite topics.

    Best,
    Emily from Nap Time Is My Time

  85. I find it is hard to really find a niche and sticking to it! Although I will say that the best of the best blogs let people into their real lives… so I guess the secret ingredient is you! πŸ™‚ Visiting you from Blogelina.. my website is BubblyNatureCreations.com

    -Rachel

  86. I think you have to just write about what you are interested in. What motivates you to write? Write about the things you would want to read. Don’t be too worried about what other bloggers are posting about. Your readers will come because they like what you have to offer. Just be you πŸ™‚

  87. I have only been blogging for a little over 5 months now, and I also blog about many different things. I write about blogging, my family, my dogs and a few other things. I don’t really have a certain niche myself, but like you I know it is important ant and better for your blogs success to stick with one topic. Preferably something you love to talk about and do not get bored with, unfortunately I haven’t figure that out yet. I agree with you, writing about what you work doing 5 days a week is probably not a good idea, unless of course you love it!

  88. You definitely have to write about what you are not only interested in, but really love to do in life. I was really dependent on needing to make income with my first blog when I started it, so I picked a niche I felt I could make decent income with while still using a topic I enjoyed. Since I no longer have to stress quite so much about the financial aspect, I have also started another blog that is a bit closer to heart, and plan to start another with a similar topic in the near future.

  89. I find sharing about my personal life difficult – I mean there is no anonymity on the Internet, so what I share I realize can be posted anywhere and everywhere, and it is cached to last forever. That’s a big deal when thinking about what to write.

    That being said, I find that humorous writing appeals to me the most. People that can write (even sponsored content) and make me laugh get me coming back to their blog.

  90. I think you and I are facing the same dilemma. I started blogging with the hopes of reaching my goals and telling the blogging world all about it. Then I don’t meet those goals and am left whining and feeling defeated. Who wants to hear about that.

    I have discovered the world of writing reviews in exchange for books. I love books and maybe that’s what my blog will eventually evolve into.

    Who knows!

  91. I’m visiting from Blogelina’s 100 comment event. πŸ™‚
    I saw there were so many comments to scroll through before I could post my comment…and at first I thought…oh no, it will take forever…but how happy I am because each person gave such great advice…and I also struggle attracting followers to my blog. πŸ™‚
    I agree with many of the commentors…when you find what you LOVE to write about, your passion will permeate the post and people will flock to read it. I think you write really well…I would definitely come back (and intend to subscribe…I’m a former preschool/kindergarten teacher who wrote a book last year for parents and teachers…so I think we are probably on the same page about a lot of things). Thank you for such a great post!

  92. I wish I could give you some good advise, but I’m just getting started myself. Good luck!

  93. Last year I wrote a Clean Eating Blog that was a very specific niche. However, it was more of a challenge for me, not truly my passion… so I found myself feeling really restricted too often because I felt like I could ONLY write about clean eating and I didn’t feel like I could put enough of “me” in it.

    This year I’m blogging about our family’s journey in creating a new web series for children… and again, I’m finding my “real self” is stifled, although not even half as much as with the food blog, because I AM passionate about kids and the show!

    I need a happy medium! I wish I had advice, but all I really know is find your passion and write about it. At least you’re honest and personable and can write well! That takes you far!!

  94. I do think you need some sort of niche, but the best part about blogs is that they are random thoughts! Keep writing!

  95. Good luck in finding your niche! I just started blogging and that is my dilemma with each post that I do.

  96. As I’m so new to blogging too (7 week in) I’ve been wondering the same thing: stick to one specific topic or write on anything I want? I am aware however that I’m using my blog as a way to keep me focused on my “fitness journey.” I want to be completely emersed in my running and weight loss goals and this is another opportunity to do just that. If I can inspire or help someone along the way then I’d be so thankful for that. Good luck!
    Betz

  97. I definitively believe you have to blog about something you know. When you write about something you really know about or are passionate about, it will come through in your writing and keep people coming back to you blog.

  98. You could probably write down specific topics that you think you want to write about on your blog, topics that you know you can write about on a consistent manner. Finding one’s niche is definitely the most difficult thing to do because everything on your blog just depends on it. But don’t compare your blog to other bigger blogs. All the bigger blogs started small. πŸ™‚

  99. First of all thank you for following me on Networked Blogs. Secondly as a person who has been doing this for nearly 4 years I can tell you I don’t have a niche. I like it that way. No one can call me the Christian blogger, mommy blogger, wife blogger or anything else. I have blog friends of various topics and genres. The one thing I am is me.. take it or leave it. I don’t have mass amounts of followers but the ones I do have are loyal and dependable to come by and see me when I write something. Those are the ones that you want to find above all else, regardless of what ‘niche’ they fall into.

  100. Jackie Griebel

    I would just follow your heart, write about what ever excites you!! You know how when you have a job it might not be something you love but you do it because you have to? Well I would think with blogging you are free to explore whatever you really want to and write about what you want to!

  101. I would suggest the best place to start is from a point of passion. Ask yourself why did you start to blog, what was your mission in blogging? These questions will help you define your blog’s purpose.

    I’m not sure, quite frankly even agree of the benefit of having you explore your blogs mission while you are blogging. Would you like to watch a television show with no direction and keep watching it until they find their style and focus?

    Start from a point of passion, passion speaks directly to many more people and more importantly will keep you engaged with your blog.

  102. I won’t be much help because I have the same questions! This is a great post!!! You really have people thinking and talking…

  103. It definitely takes some time to figure out what your niche is–I didn’t find mine overnight and I don’t think any of the previous commenters did either. You’ve been given some great advice here, and I don’t think there’s much I could add to what’s already been said!

  104. Just write about whatever make you happy.

  105. I dwindled over the issue of a niche for a few days when I first started blogging. Did I want to talk about gadgets since I am such a tech geek? I love fashion and all of my shoes – would that be a good idea? How about something ELSE that I was missing? WAS there something else?

    In the end… I decided to do it all. I am really glad that I took that decision and ran with it because I can write about anything A through Z and not worry too much about the topic! If I feel like discussing a recipe, I can! I might decide to discuss a parenting issue the next day – and it will “make sense” for myself and my readers! πŸ™‚

    Good luck!!

  106. I have been working through the same dilemma. What’s my niche? I like to write about the weird things that happen in life, the big changes on my life horizon, knitting, etc. And that’s how I started, then I thought maybe I would try to write on topics that middle age women deal with since I wasn’t really seeing any blogs on this. Then I noticed most bloggers seem to be under 40. So I realized my special place in the blog world would be helping other women understand, come to terms with and work through the changes life throws at them. But sometimes I have a different idea and have decided to allow myself the occasional random post.

  107. I was just thinking of what to do my blog about. I’m thinking it may become more like a “flight of fancy,” quirky, maybe a bit random, embracing my life and its many facets.
    Good luck on your blog pursuits also. You will do great!

    πŸ™‚ Rhea

  108. My tip is to blog about something that you’re passionate about or do daily.

  109. I just started blogging and luckily having just moved to Poland I have found my niche but for me the hard part now is to get followers.

  110. I wish you all the best in discovering your inner writer and knowing what will truly appeal to your audience, but you may find that if you do as many have already suggested and just write from the heart about all those wonderful years of wisdom you gained while nurturing Preschoolers (coming from a former preschool teacher) you may feel your audience comes to you. I know I enjoy reading a post that flows with passion and joy about a subject, but that’s me. What do you enjoy reading about…you may find you enjoy writing in the same passionate manner! It has taken me 6 months of blogging to get to a point where I suddenly am sparked with an idea and rush to the computer and speed type a passionate article ( I tend to write epic posts all the time…the writer in me you know..Lol). I know if it can suddenly come to me like that rather frequently now, then it will certainly become that way for you soon too. You are an excellent writer and you seem to have a great desire to make this niche idea work. I know you will find it. As for me, I am a lifestyle blogger, and that works for me. I don’t mind who “follows” my posts as long as I know I am writing about what can help or inspire others and its something I care about writing. Do what you love. πŸ™‚ Many blessings upon your blog’s future! Rebecca @ Love2EncourageYou

  111. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

