Time To Go

I believe it’s a life long process for most of us in trying to figure out how to keep things from cluttering up our lives.  There are those people out there who have a remarkable skill at being to let go of the things that we hang onto that eventually suck the life out of us. Unfortunately, I’m not of them.  I like to hold onto sentimental items. I have cards and letters from so many years ago.

image

Drawers and boxes full of pictures (from the pre-digital age) that I can’t let go of because they hold so many memories.

image

Oh, and some of those things people would call collectibles….I have a few of those too. OK, I’ll admit…I have lots. In boxes. Where they can’t be enjoyed.

image

Items from hobbies I just don’t get to anymore. Or never got to.

image

Not to mention books…books I love to read and children’s books I keep to read year after year in my classroom.

image

I joined Flylady way back in 2000 when she was just starting out. Over the years I’ve been able to slowly purge things from my home and my life using her methods (and also from gleaning ideas from other wonderful blogs).  But, as I said earlier, it is a life long process. Clutter is like a boomerang…you try and throw it as hard as you can to get it out of your life but, somehow it just keeps coming back.

Well, it’s the first day of April….Spring actually feels like it’s here and I feel like purging again.

My goal?

Say goodbye to at least 5 items each day.  That’s 150 things gone by the end of April. My home should be feeling a little less weighed down by the end of the month. Hopefully, I will too.

If you care to join me I’m sure you’ll feel better too.

I’ll check back in a week and let you know how things are going.

2 responses to “Time To Go

  1. Great Idea!
    I’m going to join you on this one. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Clutter Update: End of the Month | Our Safe Haven

Leave a Reply

