Eating From the Pantry

This year one of the things I’m trying to do is to be more organized and to gain a few more skills. I have a fairly good sized pantry but it’s not very organized. Things get put in there randomly….then they get pushed to the back and then they get gotten. Sound familiar to anyone?

So…. one of my goals for the year is to reorganize my pantry and refrigerator so that I don’t have to get rid of things that have expired or that turned into a science project at the back of my refrigerator.

image

Yes, I’m really putting myself out there putting a picture of my refrigerator on the internet. Honestly, I really don’t know how it happens. It gets organized and then things get shoved in there and it looks like this. Scary.

I also need to get into my freezer. ( No pictures of my freezer will be happening. It’s in my garage and today it’s just too dang cold to go out there to take a picture. This is coming from someone who is not dealing well with the freezing cold weather we’re having here in California). I  have an older chest freezer that tends to have items at the bottom that get forgotten. One of my goals for January is to clear it out. I’ve been using items from the freezer from the pantry and fresh stuff from the fridge for the past 2 weeks with a set a goal of not spending more than 20 dollars each week. Originally, I was going to set some restrictions for myself on just buying fresh fruit, vegetables, bread or dairy. But, I decided not to be so restrictive so I’m just giving myself 20 dollars each week to spend on what’s necessary. So far I’ve spent 28 dollars. For the thirteen days. That’s a serious record for me.

One thing I’ve discovered, I have a lot of tomato products. Really a lot….tomato sauce, tomatoes juice, tomato paste, spaghetti sauce, frozen tomatoes from my garden, sun dried tomatoes. I won’t be buying tomato products for quite some time. Anyone have any creative recipes? You can only eat so much spaghetti.

Wish me luck as I dive deep into the recesses of my pantry…..

Linking up with Adventures in Country Living at Shalom Engedi Farm who is also Eating to the Bottom of Her Freezer.

One response to “Eating From the Pantry

  1. I will be the first to wish you luck – and me too 🙂 so far I have stuck to my goal of only buying fresh fruits and veggies with no serious consequences in the first week. It becomes progressively harder as the weeks go on and I am trying to save some “treats” for the end of the month when we’re down to mystery frozen veggies and canned beets!

    I seem to collect a lot of tomato stuff too – it’s so practical and it’s often on sale so I buy another case. We make a healthier version of this link: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Pizza-Rice-Casserole but I always add lots more veggies – green peppers, more onions, garlic and sometimes frozen grated zucchini.- and brown rice of course – at least it’s not pasta!

    Glad we’re in it together!! I am trying to feel sorry for you and your “cold” weather!! ha!

Leave a Reply

